The Starbound series comes to an AMAZING finish.

The Starbound series comes to an AMAZING finish.
Their Fractured Light
Starbound #3

Written by: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: December 1st 2015
Genres: Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Audiobook
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads


** Some spoilers for previous books in this synopsis! **

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

My Thoughts

When you reach the conclusion to a beloved series, one you’ve followed for years, you always hope it will be great. You hope it will live up to expectations — you hope, you hope, and sometimes… your hopes become reality. This book is that reality. To me, Their Fractured Light was perfect.

For those who don’t know (who are you and why are you here?!), the Starbound trilogy is a series of space-opera companion novels, each focusing on a different couple in the same universe, who are all affected by closely-related outside forces, both those of a political and otherworldly nature… You get hints of a larger plot at work in These Broken Stars; you see things overlapping a bit more and starting to come together in This Shattered World; and finally, in Their Fractured Lightthe story finally comes full-circle, and it is pure awesomeness.

Continue reading

A shippy, time-traveling adventure you don’t want to miss.

I received this book for free from Disney Hyperion. This in no way affected my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A shippy, time-traveling adventure you don’t want to miss.
Passenger
Passenger #1

Written by: Alexandra Bracken
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: January 5th 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Source: Publisher
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads
Also by this author: The Darkest Minds, Never Fade


passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.

MyThoughts_v2

If there are two things (well, technically three) whose combination can get me immediately interested in a book, they’re time travel and ships — both the nautical and relationship kind. 😉 So if you’re like me, and you think Passenger‘s synopsis sounds like something up your alley… you definitely need to pick up this book.

Beyond ships and time travel, though, what I need in a book is great characters, and I loved the characters in Passenger — they’re so believable, and so easy to relate to and empathize with. Etta, a violin prodigy, is whisked back in time against her will, and is told she has to find a certain powerful artifact . . . or else. Nicholas wants nothing more than a life at sea and freedom from his ‘family’, but he gets pulled into Etta’s search regardless. Continue reading

Giveaway! THE DARKEST MINDS: THROUGH THE DARK by Alexandra Bracken

Hey guys! I have an exciting promo for you today — if you’re a fan of The Darkest Minds series, you’ll remember that the two previously-released novellas, In Time and Sparks Rise, were only available as ebooks, yeah? Well, guess what! There’s a new hardcover edition of these novellas, called Through the Dark, which also includes a new novella, Beyond the Night, that ties up Sparks Rise! Fans of Ruby, Liam, Chubs, and Vida are in for a treat—our original cast returns at the end of the final novella, and are every bit as lovable as always.

The wonderful folks at Disney-Hyperion were kind enough to sponsor a giveaway for readers of There Were Books Involved, so check out the book’s info below and enter to win a finished copy of Through the Dark at the bottom of this post!

Giveaway! THE DARKEST MINDS: THROUGH THE DARK by Alexandra Bracken
Through the Dark
, ,

Written by: Alexandra Bracken
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: October 6th 2015
Genres: Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads
Also by this author: The Darkest Minds, Never Fade, Passenger

ABOUT THE BOOK

This collection of thrilling—and utterly heartbreaking—novellas set in the in the world of the Darkest Minds is an absolute must-have for fans of the New York Times best-selling trilogy.

Don't miss this breathtaking collection of stories set in the world of the New York Times best-selling Darkest Minds trilogy. Featuring ebook original novellas In Time and Sparks Rise, available in print for the first time, and a gripping, brand-new novella, Through the Dark is a must-have for fans of the Darkest Minds.This collection contains three novellas: In Time, Sparks Rise, and Beyond the Night, as well as a sneak peek at the first novel in Alexandra Bracken's new series, Passenger.

ABOUT THE NOVELLAS

IN TIME

Gabe's life has been devastated in the wake of the economic crash. The only option left for someone like him to escape his tragic past is to leave his small town behind and to attempt to become a skiptracer. This already almost-impossible task is made all the more difficult by his first "score,"a young girl who won't speak, but who changes his life in ways he could never imagine.

SPARKS RISE

Sam didn't think things could get worse at Thurmand rehabilitation camp. Then the Reds arrive. Everyone assumed the kids with firepower had been killed years ago. Instead they were taken away, brainwashed, and returned as terrifyingly effective guards. To her horror, Sam recognizes one of them: Lucas, the one spark of light in Sam's dark childhood.

Lucas has a deadly secret—he beat the brutal training that turned his fellow Reds into mindless drones. When Sam defends herself against an attack by a vile PSF guard and faces a harrowing punishment, Lucas must risk everything to save her.

BEYOND THE NIGHT 

The government-run "rehabilitation camps" have been shut down, but kids with Psi powers are anything but free. Sam would rather be on her own than put in the care of a foster family and given the "cure"—a dangerous procedure that unclaimed kids across the country are being forced to undergo. But there's more at stake than just her own safety. Sam once made someone a promise, and the time has come to fulfill it.

Now that she's out of her camp, Mia only has one thought in her head: finding Lucas, her beloved older brother. She hasn't seen him since they were separated and taken to different camps years ago, before Mia even became Psi. When Sam, Lucas's childhood best friend, rescues Mia from the government's inept care, Mia learns that nothing is as simple as she thought—and the past that she's so desperate to salvage may not be possible to recover...

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday – Their Fractured Light

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine,
which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating!

 

Waiting on Wednesday – Their Fractured Light
Their Fractured Light
Starbound #3

Written by: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: December 1st 2015
Genres: Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads

** Some spoilers for the 1st two books in this synopsis!! **

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

WhyImWaiting_v2

I. Adore. This. Series. …No, like, I don’t think you understand. These books are literally everything. Adventure. Romance. Action. Suspense. Conspiracies. Space-traveling sci-fi goodness. They’ve got all the completion of standalones mixed with the awesomeness of a series… Honestly, companion novels are my newest favorite thing ever, especially with the level of overlap present in the Starbound series. UGH. And did I mention the feels? These books seriously bring the feels.

So. Final book in this trilogy? Bringing in new characters in the form of a daredevil onsite hacker and a thief/pickpocket? Yes. 100% yes. Sign me up, count me in, I am absolutely on board for this level of awesomeness.

Is it December yet?????

What book are YOU anxiously awaiting today?

Link me to your WoW post! I’d love to stop by! :)

Waiting on Wednesday – Daughter of Dusk

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine,
which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating!

 

Waiting on Wednesday – Daughter of Dusk
Daughter of Dusk
Midnight Thief #2

Written by: Livia Blackburne
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: August 4th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads
Also by this author: Poison Dance, Midnight Thief

* * SOME SPOILERS FOR BOOK 1 IN THIS SYNOPSIS!! * *

After learning the truth about her bloodlines, Kyra can’t help but feel like a monster.

Though she’s formed a tentative alliance with the Palace, Kyra must keep her identity a secret or risk being hunted like the rest of her Demon Rider kin. Tristam and the imprisoned assassin James are among the few who know about her heritage, but when Tristam reveals a heartbreaking secret of his own, Kyra’s not sure she can trust him. And with James’s fate in the hands of the palace, Kyra fears that he will give her away to save himself.

As tensions rise within Forge's Council, and vicious Demon Rider attacks continue in surrounding villages, Kyra knows she must do something to save her city. But she walks a dangerous line between opposing armies: will she be able to use her link to the Demon Riders for good, or will her Makvani blood prove to be deadly?

In this spellbinding sequel to Midnight Thief, Kyra and Tristam face their biggest battle yet as they grapple with changing allegiances, shocking deceit, and vengeful opponents.

WhyImWaiting_v2

I loved the first book in this series, Midnight Thief, as well as the prequel novella! The worldbuilding is so interesting, and the characters are WONDERFUL, and… basically I just really need more Kyra and Tristam in my life. *_* I can’t wait to find out what happens after the way book 1 ended!! =S

What book are YOU anxiously awaiting today?

Link me to your WoW post, I’d love to stop by! :)

PS: FYI, my birthday giveaway started yesterday, for a book of choice from TBD! :D

ARC Review: THIS SHATTERED WORLD by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

I received this book for free from Disney Hyperion. This in no way affected my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: THIS SHATTERED WORLD by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
This Shattered World
Starbound #2

Written by: Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner
Published by: Disney Hyperion
Release date: December 23rd 2014
Genres: Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Source: NetGalley
Buy: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads


The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war.

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet's rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn's blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

MyThoughts_v2

I don’t even know if it’s going to be possible for me to form coherent sentences about this book, you guys. I loved it. I loved it so much.

But I’ll be honest — This Shattered World wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, in one regard especially. After These Broken Stars, I think I expected This Shattered World to be just as swooony and romance-centric. I won’t say flat-out that it wasn’t, just that the romance in This Shattered World worked out a lot differently than I expected. And actually, that’s one of the things I loved most about it.

Continue reading