Ten Books I Recently Added To My To-Be-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish,
and features weekly top-ten lists! This week it’s…

Ten Books I Recently Added To My To-Be-Read List

So, this one was interesting. I just went through my Goodreads to-read list, and added the last (ish – if they had covers) 10 books I added to that shelf. Most don’t come out for a while… but LOOK AT THE PRETTY. O_O

TTT1 TTT2

Continue reading

ARC Review: THE START OF ME AND YOU

I received this book for free from Bloomsbury. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

ARC Review: THE START OF ME AND YOU
The Start of Me and You

Written by: Emery Lord
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: March 31st 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Source: NetGalley
Buy at: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads

three-starsthree-starsthree-stars

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics The Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

MyThoughts_v2

So, I was really excited for The Start of Me and You. I loved Open Road Summer a ridiculous amount — it was a fantastic debut, unique, filled with chemistry and feels… I adored it. And I wanted that from The Start of Me and You, too. Unfortunately… I didn’t feel it with this one.

Admittedly, this book does have a lot going for it, and I really did like a lot about it. It’s light and sweet — it might read a tad young (or maybe just overly cute/cliche?) in places, but it covers a lot of really important themes.

Continue reading

Excerpt Tour (Part 3)! Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

SVTHSA_tour

I’m so excited to be part of this short excerpt tour for Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda! I’ll be posting my full review within the next couple of weeks, but for now, just know — you need this book. Read more about it, below, and be sure to follow the tour from the beginning before reading my excerpt!

Excerpt Tour (Part 3)! Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Written by: Becky Albertalli
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: April 7th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Buy at: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

And now, the excerpt!

So, you’ve read part 1 and part 2, right? Well, if you haven’t, here’s a little background: This excerpt is part of an email exchange between our hero, “Jacques” (aka Simon), and the mysterious “Blue”, which continues throughout Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. These emails are one of my favorite things about the book — they’re endearing and hilarious and I’m really excited that you all get to read part of these exchanges thanks to this tour. ^_^

So, yeah — you should definitely check out the previous two stops on the excerpt tour (part 1 and part 2) to read this exchange from the beginning! And then continue on…

Continue reading

Blog Tour: A Darker Shade of Magic + Giveaway!

A Darker Shade of Magic Blog Tour

Welcome to White London…

…and to my stop on V.E. Schwab’s Digital Londons blog tour! I’m so excited to be involved in this tour, and to have Victoria on the blog today to share a little bit about her INCREDIBLE new book, A Darker Shade of Magic!

TWBI-quoteIf you follow me on Twitter, you know I haven’t been able to stop talking about this book since I read it, and for good reason. It contains everything I want from a great fantasy book — excellent worldbuilding, an amazing magic system, incredible characters… and a plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the final page.

And if that’s not enough for you, it’s also got a wannabe pirate, a magic boy with a magical many-sided coat, and multiple Londons… Yes, Londons. If you want to learn more about them, click around on Darker-Shade.com, or take this super fun quiz to find out which London you belong in! I am apparently from Red London, FYI — so I’m assuming, since this blog-tour stop happens to be in White London, that I must have the ability travel between them…? I’m gonna go with yes. ;)

Anyway, there’s tons more fun on this tour stop, below — Victoria shares a little bit about her worldbuilding process (so cool!!) and there’s also an international giveaway! So stick around!

Continue reading

Waiting on Wednesday – The Boy Most Likely To

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine,
which spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating!

 

Waiting on Wednesday – The Boy Most Likely To
The Boy Most Likely To
My Life Next Door #2

Written by: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Release Date: August 18th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Buy at: B&N, Amazon, Book Depository
Add on: Goodreads

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

WhyImWaiting_v2

There aren’t tons of contemporaries I’m absolutely dying for lately… but this is definitely one of them. I adored Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, and I love companion novels in general (possibly even more than true series… *gasp*), so really, there’s just no way I’m missing this book.

What book are YOU anxiously awaiting today?

Link me to your WoW post and I’ll be sure to stop by! :)

Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish,
and features weekly top-ten lists! This week it’s…

Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

Wheeeeee! This is the first Top Ten TBR in a while that I actually let myself choose my TOP ten books. Before, I would just list the next 10 books in my schedule, but since I’ve changed how I “schedule” my TBR, this list was a bit harder (and more fun!) to put together. Below are a bunch of books I’m really excited to read this spring — some old, some ARC’s, some re-reads… It’s a very mixed bag, lol.

The Re-Reads

TTT-LunarChron TTT-ThroneOfGlass

Continue reading